Breaking News

அரசியல் கைதிகளை விடுவிக்கக்கோரி தமிழ் மக்கள் தேசியக் கூட்டணி ஜனாதிபதிக்கு கடிதம்

பயங்கரவாத தடுப்புச் சட்டத்தின் கீழ் தடுத்து வைக்கப்பட்டுள்ள தமிழ் அரசியல் கைதிகளை விடுவிக்கக் கோரி தமிழ் மக்கள் தேசியக் கூட்டணி சார்பாக வடக்கு மாகாண முன்னாள் முதலமைச்சர் சி. வி. விக்னேஸ்வரன் ஜனாதிபதி கோட்டபாய ராஜபக்ஷவிற்கு கடிதம் ஒன்றை அனுப்பி வைத்துள்ளார்

இவ் கடிதத்தில் கூட்டணியின் தலைவர்களான வடக்கு மாகாண முன்னாள் முதலமைச்சர் சி.வி.விக்னேஸ்வரன், ஈ.பி.ஆர்.எல்.எவ் கட்சி தலைவர் சுரேஷ் பிரேமச்சந்திரன், தமிழ் தேசிய கட்சியின் தலைவர் ஸ்ரீகாந்த மற்றும் வடக்கு மாகாண முன்னாள் அமைச்சர் ஆனந்தி சசிதரன் ஆகியோர் இக் கடிதத்தில் ஒப்பமிட்டுள்ளனர்.

இந்த கடிதம் "1979 ஆம் ஆண்டின் 48 ஆம் இலக்க பயங்கரவாதத் தடுப்புச் சட்டத்தின் விதிகளின் கீழ், கடந்த 10-15 ஆண்டுகளாக சிறையில் அடைக்கப்பட்டுள்ள 91 தமிழ் அரசியல் கைதிகளுக்கு நீதி கிடைக்க வேண்டும்" என்று கேட்டுக்கொள்ளப்பட்டுள்ளது.

இவர்கள் சிறையில் நீண்டகாலம் தடுக்க வைக்கப்படிருப்பதால் அவர்களது வாழ்க்கையும் அவரகளது குடும்பங்களின் வாழ்க்கையும் பெரிதும் பாதிக்கப்படுள்ளது. என கடிதத்தில் சுட்டி காட்டப்படுள்ளது.

நீண்டகாலம் இவர்கள் சிறையில் வாடுவதனால் கருணையோடும் இரக்க சிந்தனையோடும் இவர்களின் பிரச்னை அணுகப்பட வேண்டுமென ஜனாதிபதியிடம் வலியுறுத்தியிருக்கிறது தமிழ் மக்கள் தேசியக் கூட்டணி.

ஜனாதிபதிக்கு அனுப்பப்பட்ட கடிதம் கீழே இணைக்கப்பட்டுள்ளது:

His Excellency Gotabaya Rajapakse Esqr.
President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka,
Presidential Secretariat,
May it please your Excellency!
We, the respective leaders of the below -mentioned political parties that have come together recently under the umbrella of the Thamil Makkal Thesiya Kootani (TMTK), submit this appeal pleading for justice for the 91 Tamil political prisoners who have been in incarceration for the past 10-15 years  and more, under the provisions of the Prevention of Terrorism Act No.48 of 1979. We are told those convicted and serving sentence after disposal of appeal are 29; Convicted and awaiting the outcome of their appeal – 17; those indicted and being now tried – 38; and those who pleaded guilty, convicted and undergoing incarceration still - 7 Total 91. Almost all of them have been in incarceration for over 12 years.  

A vast majority of these prisoners were either in their twenties or thirties at the time of their arrest and their continuing incarceration for a long period of time has affected them adversely and impacted on their families heavily.
Two prisoners died in detention some time back.

With the conclusion of the war in May 2009, there had been an understandable expectation among the detainees at that time with regard to their early release on account of the release of many higher echelon leaders like inter alia Karuna Amman, Pillayan and K.Pathmanathan. 

We wish to submit that continuous incarceration for more than 10 – 15 years of these prisoners, justly calls for a review of their plight with a sympathetic and merciful approach.

We can very confidently assure Your Excellency that a fair and reasonable resolution of the problems posed by the continuing incarceration of these political prisoners who have spent a considerable part of their youth in prison, would definitely be a big step in the right direction to initiate a serious and meaningful political process, through the means of dialogue, discussion and deliberation among all legitimate representatives of the people of our Country. 

After the General Election and during your leadership, in order to evolve and achieve a peaceful permanent solution to the national question, a resolution of the problems of these hapless prisoners would go a long way to create trust and credibility among the Tamils.

We therefore earnestly and fervently urge Your Excellency to be firm and ensure the early release of these unfortunate citizens of our country to enable them to re - join their families and re-enter social life. We are aware it would be necessary to grant special Amnesty to those convicted while the others could be released under the powers vested in you, if need be through Courts.

Thanking Your Excellency in anticipation,

Yours truly,
Justice C.V.Wigneswaran
Secretary General
Thamizh Makkal Kootani
K. Premachandran
Eelam People Revolutionary Liberation Front

Tamil National Party
Ananthy Sasitharan
Secretary General
Eeela Thamilar Suyadchi Kazhagam

Copy to:- Honorable Prime Minister, Prime Minister’s Office, Colombo